From the Editor’s Desk: Introducing Kellie Dietrich

Originally published in Issue 14, Fiftieth year of The Minstrel (April 25,2016). Click here to view the entire issue.

Hello.

It’s me.

Not the amazing Adele, but the (hopefully amazing) editor-in-chief of The Minstrel for the 2016-2017 academic year. I’m very excited and honored to accept the position.

Even though writing is my passion now, I used to hate it in elementary school until my fifth-grade teacher taught us the five-paragraph essay. Although the five-paragraph essay later became useless, it taught me how to structure and organize my writing, which is what I needed to excel as a writer.

I first became involved in journalism in high school by serving as a staff writer and entertainment editor. The great times I had there made me want to join The Minstrel as well.

I’ve been thinking about the opportunity of editor-in-chief since I was a shy freshman at DeSales and Dan Beck saw some editorial skills in me. Somehow between now and then, I became known as the “ruthless editor” on staff and known for my “Kellietorials.” (What can I say? I have a lot of opinions.)

During my time as a staff writer and features editor, I’ve learned a lot, and by interviewing fellow students, faculty and staff, I went outside my comfort zone and talked to people that I never would have spoken to. Although it was nerve-wracking at times, I love being able to share other people’s stories in my writing.

Along the way, I have made some great friendships as well. Our current editor-in-chief Adam Zielonka was one of my first friends on staff. He always believed in me and has really helped me grow as a journalist. We’re all going to miss him, but I know he will write amazing stories wherever he goes, and he’ll be rooting for us through the Minstrel editors GroupMe chat.

Will Edwards was another one of my first friends at DeSales (thank you, pod 7). And it is only fitting that he will be the managing editor for next year. The two of us will make a great team!

I also can’t wait for more chaos and laughs in The Minstrel office with Lauren Trumbull, Jaci Wendel and the rest of our editors.

I wish the best of luck to the graduating seniors – A&E and online editor Hutton Jackson, staff writers Erika Domingues, Alexa Manzo and Jaclyn Silvestri and photographers DJ McCauley and Nick Noverati.

With half a century of news down, I’m committed to improving The Minstrel and making it the best it can be next year. But for now, enjoy our current issue, which features the Marcon Lecture, the first graduating class of the DeSales Experience and other fantastic pieces that make me proud to be working alongside this talented group of friends and writers.

Peace, love & DeSales,

Kellie Dietrich
Features Editor

